Tags

, ,

Hello, my name is Joe and I’m a geek. My latest geeky thing I’ve done was to read this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Geekomancy is an lovely little urban fantasy romp that pulls you quickly into its world.

Geekomancy

Yes, to fully enjoy the book you need to be a bit of a geek. If you don’t know who the Browncoats are or have never traveled the time/space continuum in the TARDIS with Dr. Who, then this probably isn’t for you. That being said, this is a really fun read without having to “get” every reference. So, unless you need to know everything to enjoy a book, don’t let a lack of game playing, LAN parties and cosplay experience get in your way of enjoying a really fun book. I don’t play D & D or other role playing games. I’m not a big comic book fan (I’ve never heard of the  Black Canary until this book). I also didn’t know much about Beren the One Hand or Lúthien when I read The Lord of the Rings. You may submerge into a world with some of it context only glimpsed peripherally. We loved The Lord of the Rings without reading The Simillarion. Indeed, we can never get the full back story of any well-developed world. Mr. Underwood’s world provides the milieu in which the characters move; the backdrop for the story and the action. Now, it’s a more important backdrop for this book than for most. The storyline and action do depend on it; it’s not a bolt-on afterthought. However, you don’t have to know how Wolverine has morphed over different series to enjoy the book.

Why not? The main characters, Ree, Drake and Eastwood would have their essential characteristics intact with any world in which they were placed. It would have been expressed differently (and I love the way they’re expressed here), but they would be great characters in spelunking or dance sub-cultures as well. Those “worlds” wouldn’t hold as much interest for me, but they would still be vivid characters. Ree’s relationships with her friends, roommate & coworkers are well developed for a short book. Drake’s 19th-century steampunk background provides shorthand to get to his mannerisms, but not his goodness. That’s his own, spoken and lived out through that filter.

I haven’t had so much fun with a light read in quite a while. Fabulous job Mr. Underwood.

NOTE: Celebromancy, the continuing saga of Rees, is available for pre-order on a number of sites, including Amazon. It will be out July 15th, 2013. I’ve had my pre-order in since January. I’m definitely looking forward to this addition.

