Tags

, ,

Sound of Music - Live

Carrie Underwood as Maria? Seriously? Yes, seriously. NBC has some guts to take this on and live. First, full disclosure: I love Julie Andrews (this began when I saw her and Richard Burton in Camelot – whoa, I’m old) and I love the 1965 version of Sound of Music. Like True Grit, my initial response is “Why mess with near perfection?” (I still haven’t seen the 2010 remake although I hear it’s quite good.) Well, this is live TV, not a movie, so it’s not taking on the original quite head on. None the less, some guts.

What has piqued my interest, however, is that I had an opportunity to hear the soundtrack to tonight’s show. Carrie Underwood performs admirably on it. Her voice is lovely with a clear tone and good phrasing. There, I’ve said it. And no, it’s not just during the yodeling in “The Lonely Goatherd.” Now, a soundtrack does not a musical make. We’ll have to see tonight. However, I was quite surprised how good this is. Also, anything with Audra McDonald, is, by that very fact, good.

audra-mcdonald-carrie-underwood

Audra McDonald with Carrie Underwood

So, surprise yourself and listen in with open ears and mind; from one who was ready to blow off this production, I now eagerly look forward to a pleasant surprise.

Carrie Underwood as Maria

Carrie Underwood as Maria

