Tags

, ,

the_hollow_crown_henry_iv_part_2_crowned

Thomas

A poem inspired by The Hollow Crown – Henry IV Part 2 – today’s guest post by my son Thomas.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Crown
by
Thomas Frazier

This Crown

A thing of beauty and bright delight

A thing of gold, gems, and stones

A thing of God, given to man

A thing of power and awesome might

A kingmaker and armybuilder

A thing of peace, but no

A thing of pride, and mad man’s delight

A blooddrinker, a widowmaker

A thing of sorrow

Where murders, thieves, and traitors do lie, so too is the crown found

Wanted by young and kept with old

Did ever Satan make a more splendid thing

And so it twirls and chains my head

Never an hour goes by where I did not fix on my brow

As I shrink into the shadow of my crown

 

 

