Tags

, , , ,

SDofLBDCover

I loved the webshow The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. Will I love the The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet: A Novel when it arrives June 24th? Well, let’s think about why we loved the webshow in the first place.

LizzieBennetCo

They are some of the reasons I loved Lizzie Bennet Diaries: Julia Cho as Charlotte, Ashley Clements as Lizzie, Mary Kate Wiles as Lydia & Laura Spencer as Jane

While I’m not up for every modern adaption or morphing of Pride and Prejudice, e.g., Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I like Bollywood’s Bride and Prejudice (it always brings a smile to my face) and  Lost in Austen. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries hold a special place in Austen ‘verse since they both convey the heart of the story and make it current and fresh. It was also done well. For a deeper dive into the series, see my review of The Brilliant Lizzie Bennet Diaries – You did Austen proud.

bothbook_what

What!?!

So I’m looking forward with some pretty strong anticipation and, admittedly, trepidation on a novelization of a webshow of a classic novel. Seriously, it looks like fun and, I’m reminded by looking back to the webshow; let’s be open to something new.

