Tags

, , , , , ,

For any who happen to follow this blog, posts on a date night are definitely out of character. There were enough striking things about this time that I could not resist the post. Skip on to the next review if you wish as I indulge in a little recollection. Due to other schedule changes, my wife and I were in the delightful position to have an unscheduled date night (really date early-afternoon-into-evening, but that’s a bit much).

Some things that really struck me about our experience, namely:

1. Beautiful people
2. Truly amazing burgers
3. Surprisingly interesting trailers
4. A totally fun movie

Beautiful people at Southpoint: 

For the first part, we went to Southpoint Mall (near Durham NC).

HDR-SouthPoint-Streets4

Yes guys, I volunteered to go with my wife to the mall. Not just any mall, but a mall where at least some are fairly expensive shops meeting a plethora of perceived needs and wishes. No greater love is there than laying down your life for a friend but taking your wife to a mall ranks up there on the love meter. However, I’m blessed with a delightful wife who makes even shopping a pleasure and rarely fiscally painful. However, I digress – for the first 15 minutes or so of walking around, I saw no one but beautiful people. I’m talking flawless skinned, expertly coiffed, stunningly perfect-teeth people whose clothes draped and flowed about them with a perfect hand. They made these guys look decidedly average:

Joshua-McKinley-and-Macys-Models

Something inside me began to bubble up the song:

Summertime, and the livin’ is easy
Fish are jumpin’ and the cotton is high
Oh, your Daddy’s rich and your Mama’s good-lookin’

Fortunately for all, I was able to bottle it in. I about broke down and couldn’t take it. Surely I don’t belong here. My own sartorial statement is typically haute couture from REI & Columbia. I’m the kind of guy who, were he to model said REI line, sales would decline. As I was about to flee the mall, stranding my wife amongst these amazing specimens of humanity (I was panicked and she fits in much better with the beautiful), some normal people came walking around the corner. The glaring shine of extras from Gossip Girl dimmed slightly. All was right with the world once again.
top

Zinburger: Truly amazing:

ZinBurgerOutside

To recover from both shopping and the effervescent atmosphere created by beauties, we went to Zinburger. Of course, you cannot completely escape beautiful people here, but there are sufficiently significant numbers of “normals” to allow one to keep equilibrium. OK, the wait-staff are all good lookin’ but hey, you’ll survive. The point is the food and wine.

The Californian

The Californian

I had the Californian – it is ginormous in all dimensions but particularly tall. It’s a challenge to get your mouth around all of the beef, avocado, alfalfa sprouts and melted swiss cheese. One word – melt. Yup, it simply melts in your mouth. Do you remember the fireworks that went off for Remy in Ratatouille when he hit just the right combo of flavors? Seriously good. Paired with a nice little fruity Blue Crab red wine and balance was restored to the universe.

BlueCrabRed
top

Surprising Trailers:

Now it’s off to the movies. (Popcorn & Coke cannot even be contemplated after Zinburger). Two of the trailers consist of sequels to movies that held no interest for me: Planes Fire & Rescue and Dolphin Tale 2. I believe Planes is the first Pixar movie I haven’t seen (albeit in the post-Disney acquisition era).

Dolphin Tale just seemed like another emotional pull to save the mammals at all cost. Don’t get me wrong. I love saving animals but there’s just so many times the tear ducts need to flow over for the same story. The original looked a little “also-ran”. I may have been premature in my judgement.

Anyway, I can’t recall a time when I was at least intrigued with a sequel whose initial movie I haven’t desired to see, let alone two. Of course, these could be very clever trailers, but I’ll go back and see their origins.

One last trailer update – the newest Annie trailer simply confirmed my excitement for this movie. I loved the version with Alicia Morton, but this updated version looks like serious buckets of fun.
top

The Totally Fun – How To Train Your Dragon 2:

Finally, we went to see How to Train Your Dragon 2 (gasp, without our children). It was really good. If you didn’t like HTTYD1, you won’t like this one. If you liked it, you’ll love the sequel. It was, in parts, somewhat predictable (I wish the trailer hadn’t foreshadowed his Mom) and, in others, surprising. In all parts, it was well done. I’m really glad we saw it on the big screen. If you haven’t seen either, do yourself a favor and check out the original then go see the sequel on the big screen.

All in all, a lovely way to spend time with my bride.
top

