Tags

, , ,

UPDATE: Brief review below

OK, I admit a little bit of skepticism when Disney acquired Lucas Films.

Who's Your Daddy

Those fears were somewhat allayed when J. J. Abrams was announced as director, albeit one who is crossing streams of Star Trek

J.J.-Abrams

and Star Wars universes.

star-wars-jj-abrams-omaze-youtube

Now, however, my fears are not only wiped away, but in their place is unspeakable joy and geeky giddiness. Yes – the acquisition has allowed Phineas & Ferb to join Luke, Han, Leia and all the gang in Star Wars. Woot.

phineas_and_ferb__star_wars_demotivational_by_thekirbykrisis-d6svtbe

Image credit – thekirbykrisis (http://thekirbykrisis.deviantart.com/)

The very pinnacle of my cultural calendar is July 26 – a Saturday evening that will live in glory.

Now, I know some of you will simply point to this as perfect evidence that the Star Wars franchise will be used and abused by Disney, but come on, seriously, this will be fun.

 

Brief Review

I had an opportunity to see Phineas and Ferb Star Wars (on a big ole screen) and remember why I like this show so much. All the references were done with near perfection. I saw this with my teenage twin boys (15) and they had as much fun as I. The songs, while not ready to hit the top 10, were spot on. The integration with the Stars Wars was deftly done and Ferb as a Sith Lord is something to behold. I love the mods to the light sabers.

So, in many ways, it was exactly what I’ve come to expect from the show and it delivered in spades. If you missed it tonight, catch it as Disney airs it again.

