Tags

, , ,

TheBotUMCover

If you like your stories like I like my chocolate and coffee – dark – The Book of the Unnamed Midwife may be for you. I’ve never posted about a book I’ve not fully read before, but I want to mention this one. While I’m fond of dark chocolate and coffee, I like my books a little on the lighter side. Dystopian, post-apocalyptic & plague-ridden worlds sometimes find room on my bookshelf (virtual or otherwise), but this one makes Hugh Howey’s Wool look like light-weight fuzz. Things go quite amiss in her world decimated by plague, especially if you’re female. After reading the first few chapters, I stopped because, and I freely admit it, I’m a whimp and it was painful for me to read simply due to the unabated nastiness of the world depicting “man’s inhumanity towards man.” I’m making an exception to my not-posting-on-something-not-fully-read rule because Ms. Elison’s writing is fabulous. Her pacing is spot-on, dialog tight and world descriptions (all too well) place you on the scene.

Meg Elison

Meg Elison

So for those of you that love seeing people work through devastating world changes, you chew through dystopian novels for breakfast and want to read a clever, well-written novel with challenges galore, give The Book of the Unnamed Midwife a shot.

