Tags

, ,

Joss-Stone-Water-For-Your-Soul-2015-1200x1200

It has never been easy to peg Joss Stone to a particular genre. She seems to wander around R & B, Soul, Pop and Jazz most of the time, but she has her own voice and rhythm. She also has an inherent sense of whimsy that is sometimes reflected in her playfulness with handling a song, whether it manifests itself in lyrics or an adopted accent. I think that’s why so many of us love her singing; despite having a unique sound, she plays around with what she’s doing so that she brings something new to every project and every song. She definitely brought a new, but recognizable sound to Water for Your Soul. World Music is probably the best moniker for the type of music it represents with sounds reminiscent of AfroPop, Caribbean, Reggae, Spanish guitar and maybe a bit of Celtic. I think this quote from a Los Angeles Times interview nicely summarizes her attitude toward genres: ”My mum said the album is in the world music section on Amazon. I’m chuffed, because what do I know? I’m just making music, and I’m enjoying the sounds I get to hear from all the travel.” None of her whimsical nature or a view that genres aren’t important is indicative of how seriously she takes her music; she is all about music making.

Joss Stone

Joss Stone courtesy jossstone.com

Her mix of layered sounds, rhythms paced to meaning and that great soulful voice of Ms. Stone’s are the essence of the magic of this album. While I typically immerse myself in any album I review, I’ve probably listened to this one at least couple dozen times. Each stanza, every turn of phrase and lilt of guitar or punch of drum come together to give a complexity and nuance to the music that allows us to continually uncover more to the music.

For full review: http://ppcorn.com/us/joss-stone-water-soul-album-review/

A little preview with her new video “Stuck on You”

