Tags

, , , , ,

Back in November, I celebrated meeting my BMI goal (the goal being “normal” at between 18.5 & 25); see: So I Met My Weight Goal. Now What?  I’m sharing this journey in hopes of encouraging any that might be on or wish to start their own health journey. My hope is that you can see it’s never too late and it’s not impossible. While your results may vary (and, if you’re female, alas, it almost certainly will be harder), it’s possible to make progress. Plus it’s always good to take moment in the journey to celebrate. For some more details of what I did on this journey see: Microsoft Band 2 – Real World Notes from the Field. Recently, I received my health assessment. Thanks in large part to Builders Mutual’s  great health program which provides lots of incentives and opportunities (like our gym), an encouraging family, and great tools like the Microsoft Band 2, my assessment proved out the benefits of the journey.

jtfnovembertonovember

November 2015 to November 2016 (I know – not great pictures but I typically take them, rather than being in them)

My lessons learned outlined in my previous post remain the same:

  • it’s not a diet, but a lifestyle.
  • Be you – don’t try to shoehorn into someone else’s plan for you.
  • Be patient – results will come.
  • Be healthy – you don’t need to be a super-sculpted fitness model (unless you want to be and it makes sense for your body).

So, yeah – let’s celebrate

As I’ve said before, I’m enormously grateful that I’ve been able to reach these goals. Indeed, it is grace upon grace that I could do so. Yes, I put in the effort, but it is the God in whom I live, and move and have my being, who has sustained me in it, made it efficacious and allowed me to do so with virtually no injury.

whats-next

Let’s take a lesson from Paul; it works for our physical life as well as spiritual:

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6 ESV

So, by God’s grace, I will continue in that work, looking for new personal bests and thankful for each day I can continue with a supportive family and work environment.

there-is-no-finish-line-50

